Hope-filled Fiction

Author Spotlight – Tamera Lynn Kraft

Part of being a writer, and a Christian, is supporting and encouraging others along their journey. Today you’ll get to meet author, Tamera Lynn Kraft. I haven’t read Tamera’s books yet, but reviews on Amazon reveal those who have love her historical fiction writing.

I’m excited to be part of helping launch her newest release, “Lost in the Storm.” I was intrigued after reading the back cover copy because of the story being set in Chattanooga, the location for my current novel in progress.

I hope you enjoy getting to know this author.

Photo of Tamera Lynn Kraft

Award winning author Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures. She loves to write historical fiction set in the United States because there are so many stories in American history. There are strong elements of faith, romance, suspense and adventure in her stories. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest. As a children’s pastor for over 20 years, Tamera is also a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

 Lost in the Storm: Ladies of Oberlin – Book 2

Will war bring them love or will they be Lost in the Storm!

Lavena, a journalist during the Civil War, wants to become a war correspondent. She finally gets her chance, but there’s a catch. She has to get an interview from a war hero who has refused to tell his story to every other journalist, and she has to accomplish this impossible task in a month or she’ll lose her job.

Captain Cage, the war hero, has a secret that will destroy his military career and reputation. Now, a new journalist is trying to get him to tell what he’s been hiding. He wants to ignore her, but from the moment she came into camp, he can’t get her out of his mind.

Leading up to the turbulent Battles for the city of Chattanooga, will Lavena and Cage find the courage to love and forgive, or will they be swept away by their past mistakes that don’t want to stay buried?

Meet the Ladies of Oberlin, the causes they’re willing to fight for, and the men who capture their hearts.

Available in eBook and paperback at Mt Zion Ridge Press, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other online retailers.

Other Books in the Series:

Red Sky Over America: Ladies of Oberlin Book 1

The Aftermath: Ladies of Oberlin Book 3 (coming in 2021)

Forks in the Road: This novel is a Western that tells the story of what happened to Jed and his brothers. Jed is one of the characters in Lost in the Storm.

Soldier’s Heart: This is the story of a minor character in Lost in the Storm who comes home from the war with PTSD.

When asked, ” How did you decide to write Lost in the Storm or the Ladies of Oberlin Series,” Tamera’s answer provides great insight into the background of her newest release.

The way the Ladies of Oberlin Series began was when I thought about writing about strong Christian women in the 19th century. The more I researched, the more I noticed almost every women I read about had a connection with Oberlin College. That intrigued me enough to research Oberlin. What I found astonished me.

Oberlin College was the first college to give degrees to men, women, and blacks before the Civil War. Almost every missionary who went overseas between 1860 and 1900 was a graduate of Oberlin College. Oberlin’s president was the fiery Second Great Awakening evangelist Charles Finney. Oberlin graduates were involved in abolition, women’s suffrage, prohibition, education, laws protecting children, and many other causes of the late 1800s.

I knew I wanted to write stories about women who graduated from Oberlin shortly before the Civil War. The first novel, Red Sky Over America, is about America Leighton the year before she graduated. She went home to Kentucky to try to convince her father to free his slaves. In the second novel, Lost in the Storm, Lavena Falcon is a woman’s rights activist and a journalist during the Civil War and wants to be a war correspondent. In the third novel, The Aftermath, which will be released in 2021, Betsy Teagan fights for prohibition after the war. Each lady has a love interest to keep things interesting.

Connect with Tamera through these online links:

Website: http://tameralynnkraft.net

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/cdybpb

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7334438.Tamera_Lynn_Kraft

Word Sharpeners Blog: http://tameralynnkraft.com

Facebook: http://facebook.com/tameralynnkraft

Twitter: http://twitter.com/tamerakraft

I hope you’ve enjoyed getting to know this author a little bit, and that you’ll check out her books. Look for another author spotlight coming in September!

Join the conversation. Do you love reading historical fiction? What time period do you enjoy most? What event in American history would you love to read about?

As a Jesus girl for more than thirty years, Deena Adams understands how important hope is to daily life, which fuels her passion to inspire others through hope-filled fiction based on true to life stories. She is represented by Tamela Hancock Murray of the Steve Laube Agency and is a multi-award-winning writer, an active ACFW member, and ACFW Virginia president. Connect with Deena through her website, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.